Just a few days left to nominate candidates for Black British Business Awards

The Black British Business Awards will recognise the contribution of black business people in the UK

Those who would like to nominate candidates for the first Black British Business Awards must do so by 27th May 2014.

The Black British Business Awards, sponsored by EY, was founded by Melanie Eusebe and Sophie Chandauka.

The awards aim to support and promote business excellence as well as uncover inspirational role models and ambassadors who represent the very best of business success.

Prime Minister David Cameron, who is supporting the awards, said: “I’m delighted to back the inaugural Black British Business Awards that will celebrate and recognise the fantastic contribution of black business people in the UK. From financial services and technology to retail and manufacturing the list of extraordinary talent in Britain’s African-Caribbean community goes on and on.

“And while established businessmen and women will be rightly awarded for their outstanding achievements, it seems they’re also acting as great role models too with more and more new black entrepreneurs coming to the fore.”

Mr Cameron added: “The business skills and entrepreneurial spirit of Britain’s African-Caribbean community gives me great confidence for the future as I know they will play a key role in securing Britain’s economic recovery.”

Judging the awards are some of the top business minds in the UK including: Sanjay Bhandari, Partner, EY; Karen Blackett, CEO MediaCom; Tim Campbell, Winner, The Apprentice (2005); Head of Client Services, Emerging Talent at Alexander Mann Solutions; and Sandie Okoro, General Counsel, HSBC Asset Management.

Ms Eusebe, Chair and Co-founder of the Black British Business Awards urged “everyone working in business in the UK to nominate an outstanding candidate in their company or industry for the Black British Business Awards.”

She went on to say that “It is a welcome opportunity to showcase some of the talented black entrepreneurs and business brains in Britain, and we hope by celebrating the achievements of some of these accomplished individuals we can inspire a new generation of young, aspirant, black British business people.”

Sophie Chandauka, Head of Asset Financing at Virgin Money, Co-Founder and Chair of the Judging Panel commented: “The Black British Business Awards will reveal the immense leadership capability in this community that has not always been given a fair shot at the top jobs. The Awards will positively contribute to the debates about diversity in the Boardroom and the black community as key entrepreneur and customer segments in Britain and abroad. We anticipate that our winners will be key influencers in business and in the Boardroom in years to come, adding to the narrative of what makes Britain truly GREAT.”

Mr Bhandari, an EY partner and member of the awards judging panel added: “Improving the diversity of UK PLC transcends the responsibility of government, business and individuals. There is no quick fix or silver bullet, but role models undoubtedly have an important part to play.

“The Black British Business Awards are a fantastic opportunity to uncover hidden talent and shine the spotlight on the UK’s top business leaders. EY is proud to support these inaugural awards and I look forward to meeting this year’s inspirational entrants.”

The Awards ceremony will be held at the Grange Hotel, Tower Hill on 2nd October 2014.

The Black British Business Awards comprise six categories, including an award for Entrepreneur of the Year.

The winners will be selected from the following industry categories

• Financial Services (includes in-house professionals)
• Fast-Moving Consumer Goods (FMCG, includes retail)
• Infrastructure and Manufacturing (includes transportation, built environment, power and utilities)
• Media and the Arts (includes media, publishing, advertising, entertainment)
• Professional Services (includes law, accounting, management consultancy)
• Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM, includes health professionals)

Click here for further information and to submit a nomination. Remember that the deadline for nominations is Tuesday 27th may 2014.